Start A Fansite!

Book 1: The Summer Tree

This is the description of The Summer Tree, Fantasy Book Club's chosen reading for the month of April.
This was taken from the introductory pages of the book.

The Summer Tree is a book of exhilarating scope and intensity. The novel is the first book of a fantasy trilogy on the grand scale, a work within the rich tradition of stories like … wait for it … Lord of the Rings.
The Summer Tree focuses on five young people who are dramatically preceipitated out of their lives in this world into the midst of a ferrifying war in Fionavar, first of all the worlds.

Here, in a wolrd of which our won is but a shadow, the fallen god, Rakoth Maugrim, breaks free from his thousand-year prison beneath the mountain. Maugrim unleashes his wrath upon the High Kingdom of Brennin, where generations of kings have affirmed their bond to the powers of the earth and sky on the limbs of the Summer Tree.

Led by Silvercloak, the wizard, the five visitors from our world are caught up in the onset of this devastating war and must find their way among the lios alfar, the Children of Ligh, the svart alfar, who serve the Dark, the Dwarves, wood and water spirits, wolves, supernatural animals, and a great many more.
The Summer Tree is a huge narrative told with pace and an obvious delight in storytelling. It introduces an enormous cast of characters and offers not only the sweep of an epic confrontation, but also characterizations of depth and intensity.

The novel offers a rich blend of romance, suspense and sorcery. For once he conjured elements of power and magic are inextricably wedded to the all-too-human figures who must wield them or confront them. The Summer Tree explores a new world – a world with echoes of Celtic and Norse mythology – a world embroiled in the timeless warring of the forces of Light and Dark.

The below another description from the back of the book...

Five university students--Kimberly, Dave, Jennifer, Kevin, and Paul--meet a wizard who takes them to the heart of all worlds, Fionavar, where they discover who they were truly meant to be.

Also from the back cover...
It all began with a lecture that introduced five university students to a man who would change their lives, a wizard who could take them from Earth to the heart of the first of all worlds--Fionavar. And take them Loren Silvercloak did, for his need--the need of Fionavar and all the worlds--was great indeed.

And in a marvelous land of men and dwarves, of wizards and gods--and of the Unraveller and his minions of Darkness--Kimberly, Dave, Jennifer, Kevin, and Paul discovered who they were truly meant to be. For the five were a long-awaited part of the pattern known as the Fionavar Tapestry, and only if they accepted their destiny would the armies of the Light stand any chance of surviving when the Unraveller unleashed his wrath upon the world.
3 Yes
0 No

DISCLAIMER: This posting was submitted by a user of the site not from Earth's Mightiest editorial staff. All users have acknowledged and agreed that the submission of their content is in compliance with our Terms of Use. For removal of copyrighted material, please contact us HERE.